INT. HAWTHORNE MANOR – NIGHT

GEORGIE (V.O.): The night after we witnessed Goldie murder Thorn in cold blood, my dreams were haunted by visions of her death. I was racked with guilt. If I hadn’t gone back to Sweetgum, Zabel wouldn’t be angry at me, Ash wouldn’t have been drugged and unconscious, and Thorn would still be alive. Thorn didn’t come back like Clare had. Or like I had. Death, permanent death, was suddenly very real. It made me realize just that when I died, as far as my mother knew, I wasn’t coming back. It made me realize how luck we both were that I did. Just as my dream self helplessly watched Thorn collapse for the hundredth time, I woke with a start in my mother’s arms to the sight of Zabel standing over me, alongside a disheveled stranger.

GEORGIE: (shouts)

BARBARA: (startled awake) Georgie? What’s… Zabel?!

ASH: (groggy) Nikki Sixx?

ZABEL: (talking too fast) Good morning! Good night? Sorry, I had to wake you! I was snooping around my mom’s closet to see if she had anything that could help us fight Goldie and I found a secret room. It had our old Yule decorations, which is great, I’ve been looking for those. But then I put on a record and a zombie woke up and it turns out they’re self-aware, but have no memory of who they are, just like you, Georgie! Oh, and we’re going to Elsa’s.

GEORGIE: Can you say that again… but slowly?

ASH: (Still groggy) We’re going to Disney World!

GEORGIE (V.O.): My mom and I hastily got dressed and split up to wake up the rest of the house. Ash groggily tried to follow suit.

ASH: (groggy) Did somebody eat my shoes?

ZABEL: Maybe you should stay here.

ASH: (groggy) No! I’m going too.

INT. ELSA’S LAB – NIGHT

GEORGIE (V.O.): Zabel, Hanako, a very woozy Ash, and I led the new zombie to Elsa Frankenstein’s lab at the edge of town. Everything was happening so fast. While I was excited to have another sentient zombie to talk to… why had they been inside of Rohesia Hawthorne’s secret closet? And why did they wake up now? We hoped Elsa would know something.

ELSA: Jude O’Dea. I never thought I’d see you again.

JUDE: Back atcha. Or… maybe back atcha? I have no idea who you are.

ZABEL: How do you know them, Elsa? Who are they?

ELSA: Your mother never told you? Hmm. How Rohesia of her. I met Jude briefly when they were… less undead. I take it they have no memory of their human days?

JUDE: I do not, no.

ELSA: Ah! Just like our dear Georgina here. I suspected that Rohesia had something to do with her unzombielike sentience. After all, the necklace she’s wearing has Rohesia written all over it.

GEORGIE: My lotus snake pendant? Why didn’t you say anything sooner?

ELSA: I did! Back when we first met, but I didn’t want to say too much before I could confirm my theory. Whatever Rohesia did, she must not have had time to perfect the spell.

ZABEL: My mom did what? Elsa, who is this zombie?

ELSA: Really, Zabel, I’m surprised you haven’t put it together already. Jude is your other parent.

ZABEL: My… other parent?

HANAKO: Huh. I always figured Rohesia just magicked Zabel into existence.

ASH: (groggy) Hey, don’t be rude to Bell! Zebull. Zeeeebeeee.

HANAKO: I like new Ash.

ZABEL: That is something witches do sometimes. They magic themselves a baby. I thought my mom did it all by herself.

ASH: (groggy) Congratulations, you’re a noddy! That’s a nonbinary mommy-daddy! I think.

JUDE: Oh boy. Wow. This is a lot.

ELSA: I remember you were so happy about the pregnancy when you were alive. You made one of those—spinny baby things. And you were always doting over Rohesia, she pretended she couldn’t stand it. We all knew better.

JUDE: I don’t remember her at all.

GEORGIE: I know how you feel. It’s really hard having no memory of your past. Especially when other people seem to know you better than you know yourself.

ZABEL: But we can investigate. We can look up your obituary and go from there. Thanks to Georgie, we’re practically undead detectives.

JUDE: Hm. I think I’m good, actually.

ZABEL, GEORGIE, HANAKO: What?

ASH: (delayed) What?

JUDE: I don’t think I want to know.

GEORGIE: You don’t want to know who you are? You don’t want to know what your favorite ice cream flavor was? If you were going to college? You don’t want to know who murdered you?

ZABEL: (warning) Georgie.

JUDE: Nah. I think I just wanna build something.

GEORGIE: Build something?

JUDE: Like that table! What is that finish? Danish oil? It’s kind of a pain, but I like the look way better than poly. And dovetail joints? Wow!

ELSA: It’s a family heirloom.

JUDE: It’s beautiful. Even the imperfections are perfect.

GEORGIE: You want to build a table.

ZABEL: You don’t want to find out more about my mom? Your partner? How you became a parent?

JUDE: I don’t know how much that matters now. Your mom’s gone, right? I’ve never really been in your life. I don’t know how much researching the past will change that.

ZABEL: You don’t even care?

JUDE: I wouldn’t say I don’t care. I just don’t think it impacts the here and now.

ZABEL: I… okay. Well. (clear throat) This shines some light on things. Mom must have made Georgie’s necklace for Jude when they died. But somehow, Georgie got it instead. Jude, do you have a necklace?

JUDE: (searching themselves) Uhh, no? (sees their ring) Oh! I do have this though.

GEORGIE (V.O.): Jude held out their left hand to reveal a ring. The band was curled around their finger in the shape of a serpent, the snake’s head cradling a jade lotus.

GEORGIE: Look! A snake and a lotus, like my necklace!

ZABEL: Those are symbols of rebirth and healing. Witches use symbols like those to create magical artifacts. The ring must be one… but how could it be if Jude hasn’t been awake for…. What? Since Mom died? 10 years?

ELSA: Jude actually passed on 19 years ago. Their heart gave out at your second birthday party. It was an eventful day.

ZABEL: And nobody told me?

ELSA: It seemed rude to bring it up.

HANAKO: (thinking) Didn’t you say you played a lullaby in there or something?

ASH: (slightly more coherent) Why did she have a record of herself singing anyway? What is this? 1842?

ZABEL: Vinyl is better at holding magic, so Mom used to record her spells as a way to archive her…. Oh. Oh duh! That record wasn’t a lullaby, it was a spell!

GEORGIE: Why leave it as a record and not just perform the spell on Jude’s ring?

ELSA: My guess is she wanted to try perfecting the spell before casting it a second time.

ZABEL: Why didn’t she tell me any of this?

GEORGIE: Are you okay, Zabel?

ZABEL: Of course I’m okay.

GEORGIE: You don’t sound like it.

ZABEL: Nothing in my life has changed, so why wouldn’t I be okay?

GEORGIE: Zabel.

ZABEL: We have to talk to Lyall.

ASH: …Did I get shot with a vial of green drug liquid or did I hear you say we have to talk to Lyall?

ZABEL: Before Lyall’s father Meinrad died, he and my mom were the protectors of Wormwood. They worked together pretty closely—it’s a long shot, but we might find a clue about Mom’s spell in Meinrad’s things.

GEORGIE: I’m in!

HANAKO: What about Druggy McGillicuddy over here? Lyall isn’t exactly the biggest fan of humans.

ASH: I feel great! I’m feeling right as fiddle! Fit as a rain!

ZABEL: It’s probably best to leave him behind. He’ll be safer here.

ASH: (touched) Aww, do you wuv me?

Beat.

ZABEL: (nervous laugh) No.

JUDE: I’ll stay back, too! I want to get a closer look at this table… to make sure it’s safe. For Ash.

ELSA: You do know I’m not a daycare, Zabel.

ZABEL: Thanks for letting them stay here, Elsa. We’ll be back soon!

SOUND CUE: Exit

ASH: Guess it’s just you, and you, and me.

JUDE: And these dovetails!

ELSA: (sighs)

EXT. LYALL’S HOUSE – DAY

GEORGIE (V.O.): Zabel led us to Lyall’s home. I had expected a gloomy Gothic tower or spider-infested cave, but instead we arrived at the manifestation of a cottagecore vision board. Lyall lived in a literal stone cottage sitting not too far from the town limits. A river ran alongside it; its banks lined with thick plentiful bushes bursting with brightly colored flowers. Beside the house was a small garden filled with rosemary and jasmine. It appeared to be tenderly cared for by, I could only presume, Lyall himself. Zabel approached the rustic wooden door and knocked.

SOUND CUE: Knocking

SOUND CUE: Door opens

LYALL: Hell…. Oh. It’s you. What are you doing here?

ZABEL: (anxious, rushed) Hello, Lyall! How are you? Sorry to drop in unannounced. How was that cake you got from Valentina? Did you have a getting out of jail party?

LYALL: (insistent) What do you want, Zabel?

ZABEL: I need your help. I’m searching for information about my mom and I think we might find something in your dad’s things. I know you don’t like me, but it’s… I just discovered something that might change monster society forever.

LYALL: (scoffs) Zabel Hawthorne is going to change monster society forever? I’ll believe it when I see it. (beat) Is your human here?

ZABEL: No, we didn’t want you to kill him.

LYALL: Fair enough. I would have.

HANAKO: Called it.

ZABEL: Lyall, listen. My mom created a spell that grants zombies sentience.

LYALL: Oh yeah, your zombie friend. Everyone won’t shut up about her.

GEORGIE: I’m standing right here.

LYALL: (ignoring Georgie) What’s that got to do with me?

GEORGIE: It’s not just me anymore.

LYALL: What?

ZABEL: We accidentally enchanted a second zombie with my mom’s spell.

LYALL: How do you accidentally enchant a zombie?

ZABEL: That’s besides the point! The spell isn’t finished and I need to see if your father knew something. Anything that could help me complete it.

LYALL: My dad wasn’t a magic user. He wouldn’t know anything about it.

ZABEL: Your dad and my mom protected this town together. He might have something in his notes about her. She might have told him something.

LYALL: Why would I help you?

ZABEL: The other zombie is my parent.

Beat.

LYALL: (softening) I see. Okay. But you have to do something for me.

ZABEL: Anything! Well… anything within reason.

LYALL: My father’s journal. The key has been missing since he died. I haven’t wanted to tear it apart because… you know. You’re not much of a witch, but if you can figure out how to open it without damaging it, I’ll let you look at it.

ZABEL: Oh, an unlocking spell? I can do that.

HANAKO: Are you sure?

ZABEL: I’m sure. Lyall? Show me the journal.

INT. LYALL’S HOUSE – DAY

GEORGIE (V.O.): The interior of Lyall’s house was as picturesque as the outside. Pots and pans hung neatly over a wooden counter that was lined with jars full of herbs from the garden. The only thing out of place was a massive bulletin board above the kitchen table, covered in newspaper clippings, strange circles, and photos connected by red string. I felt uneasy when I noticed the word “HUMANS” scrawled in red at the top.

LYALL: There.

GEORGIE (V.O.): Lyall pointed to an aging leather journal on the kitchen table.

ZABEL: Alright, everyone stand back. I got this! Dearest journal, with secrets eternal. Allow us to rewind the clock and unlock!

SOUND CUE: Fizzles

ZABEL: Let me try again. Journal! I give you a spiritual knock so you may unlock!

SOUND CUE: Fizzles

LYALL: Not sure why I expected anything other than failure.

ZABEL: One more time!

GEORGIE (V.O.): Zabel closed her eyes and took a deep breath. She placed her hands on the journal. Her fingers traced the worn lock. Zabel stood with the book in silence for several seconds.

SOUND CUE: Click

GEORGIE (V.O.): The lock came undone with a soft click. The moment it was open, Lyall snatched it out of her hands. He plopped down on the floor, flipping through its pages.

HANAKO: How did you do that?

ZABEL: I thought I had to do an incantation but… then I just envisioned it unlocking and it worked.

SOUND CUE: Lyall’s tail thumps on the floor

GEORGIE (V.O.): A loud series of thuds grabbed our attention. We collectively turned to look at Lyall, his tail thumping against the wooden floor. He smiled as he thumbed through pages of drawings and messy handwriting. Suddenly, his face fell. He lowered the journal.

ZABEL: What’s wrong?

GEORGIE (V.O.): Lyall said nothing. He merely handed the book to Zabel who read.…

ZABEL: “Rohesia’s human has risen from the grave. She is shattered by the fact that her love is a shell of who they once were. She hasn’t even told her child what has transpired. Instead, she locked her zombie lover away somewhere in that mansion of hers. Rohesia is a fool blinded by love. She has created an amulet that she is proclaiming will restore a zombie’s humanity. I laughed at first but I’ve grown more afraid. Rohesia is a formidable witch. What if this succeeds?”

GEORGIE (V.O.): Zabel’s eyes scanned the page, landing on a different section.

ZABEL: “If zombies are granted self-awareness, what will that mean for monster society? We depend on them for manual labor. They are our custodians, movers, assembly workers, miners. These jobs have always been reserved for zombies. But if Rohesia gives them the means to think for themselves, zombies could become artists or business owners. It will uproot the way our society has always been. This I cannot allow..…”

HANAKO: Wow, stand up guy.

LYALL: He never talked like that to me. Not once.

ZABEL: “I have but one choice. I will cause a disturbance that Rhodesia and I will have to investigate. Once we leave the safety of Wormwood, I will kill her. She will never have her chance to enact her plan.”

LYALL: Look at the date.

ZABEL: The day before he died.

LYALL: He must have tried to kill her.

ZABEL: But she fought back and killed him.

LYALL: And she told me it was werewolf hunters to hide the truth from me. She hid the truth that my father was a murderer.

GEORGIE (V.O.): Lyall curled up on the floor.

LYALL: Everything was a lie! A murderer’s blood runs in my veins.

GEORGIE (V.O.): Zabel knelt beside Lyall, placing a hand on his shoulder.

ZABEL: You are not your father. The burden of his misdeeds is not yours to bear.

LYALL: I tried to kill your human. I tried to kill all humans.

ZABEL: That was… not great, but on the bright side, you didn’t kill them! No harm, no foul, right?

LYALL: But I hated them! I hated them for something they didn’t do.

ZABEL: Because you were lied to. My own mother lied to you. I’m sorry she never told you the truth.

LYALL: What do I do, Zabel? I thought Dad was a hero.

ZABEL: You don’t have to do anything, not right now. First you can grieve. Then you can get a therapist because oh boy, are we both going to need one.

LYALL: And then?

ZABEL: And then you keep living.

GEORGIE (V.O.): Lyall embraced Zabel. It wasn’t something I’d ever imagined I’d see. Zabel simply held him. In that moment, she looked… so unlike herself. She wasn’t clumsy or awkward. She seemed mature and graceful.

LYALL: How do I say I’m sorry? To everyone?

ZABEL: You have a long road ahead of you, but you’ll get there. Honestly, Ash is getting used to people trying to kill him now. It’s just been a thing recently. But I recommend getting him a book. Whenever I get him a book, he does this little hand thing in excitement. It’s adorable.

SOUND CUE: Crow caws and flaps in through the window

GEORGIE: Does anyone else see the crow that just flew in through the window?

HANAKO: It’s one of Elsa’s. There should be a letter tied to its leg. It’s her version of texting.

SOUND CUE: Zabel unties the paper

SOUND CUE: Bird caws and flies away

ZABEL: Looks like Jude is building tables and Ash keeps trying to play with Elsa’s equipment. We should get back. Lyall? We have to go now, but when you’re ready to talk, reach out and I’ll be there.

LYALL: Why?

ZABEL: Why not?

LYALL: I was so… evil to you and your human.

ZABEL: Are you sorry?

LYALL: Yes. I’m sorry. I’m so sorry.

ZABEL: Well, there you are. You’re sorry.

LYALL: That’s it?

ZABEL: No. That was just the first step. All you have to do now is show me you’re sorry.

LYALL: Of course! What do you want me to do?

ZABEL: Just… get better.

Beat.

ZABEL: Before we go, I hate to ask-

LYALL: You want the journal.

ZABEL: Just for a little while.

LYALL: Take it. I don’t want it anyway.

ZABEL: Thank you.

GEORGIE (V.O.): Lyall simply nodded. We said some awkward goodbyes and then Zabel led the way back home. We picked up Jude, along with their tables, and Ash, who was now at the hungover phase of his recovery, before returning to Hawthorne Manor.

INT. HAWTHORNE MANOR – NIGHT

GEORGIE (V.O.): Everyone had so many questions about what had happened, but I excused myself to head back to my room. Zabel’s mother was the reason I had sentience. Was I grateful? Angry? Guilty? The pendant hadn’t been meant for me. I sat down to vent my frustrations to my mom.

BARBARA: The pendant?

GEORGIE: The one around my neck.

BARBARA: Oh. I had thought it was yours.

GEORGIE: What do you mean?

BARBARA: When they… pulled you out of the water, it was wrapped around your hand.… I just assumed it belonged to you.

GEORGIE: So it came from the lake.

GEORGIE (V.O.): I was sentient because of luck. I had thought maybe I was destined to be a zombie. I thought I was meant to usher in a new world for zombies. But it wasn’t destiny. It was a coincidence. I closed my eyes, reeling. I wasn’t special. I just accidentally got something meant for someone else. I unconsciously wrapped my hand around the pendant. Had I stolen the life Jude was meant to have? Should I talk to Zabel? I feared that she might resent me… but I promised no more secrets. I took a deep breath. No more secrets.